Minutes of the Meeting of Riverina Water County Council held on Wednesday 2 February 2022

The meeting of the Riverina Water County Council Board was declared open at 9:30am.

Present

Councillor Tim Koschel (Chairperson) Councillor Doug Meyer OAM (Deputy Chairperson) Councillor Pat Bourke Councillor Georgie Davies Councillor Gail Driscoll Councillor Dan Hayes Councillor Michael Henderson Councillor Jenny McKinnon Councillor Tony Quinn

In Attendance

Chief Executive Officer Director Engineering Director Corporate Services Customer and Communications Team Leader Executive Assistant to the Chief Executive Officer ICT Officer ICT Officer (Andrew Crakanthorp) (Bede Spannagle) (Emily Tonacia) (Joshua Lang) (Melissa Vincent) (Dylan Comerford) (Alan Eacott)

Acknowledgment of Country

I would like to acknowledge the Wiradjuri people who are the Traditional Custodians of this Land. I would also like to pay respect to the Elders both past and present of the Wiradjuri Nation and extend that respect to other Community members present.

Livestreaming of Meeting

Board meetings, including public address speeches, are recorded and webcast live on Council's website. If you are addressing a meeting, your image, voice and name, will form part of the webcast.

Apologies

There were no apologies

Declaration of pecuniary and non-pecuniary interests

Nil

Open Reports

R1 Oath or Affirmation of Office

At this stage of the meeting Board Members took their oath of office or made an affirmation of office. Pat Bourke – Oath Georgie Davies – Affirmation Gail Driscoll – Affirmation Dan Hayes – Affirmation Michael Henderson – Oath Tim Koschel – Affirmation Jenny McKinnon – Affirmation Doug Meyer – Oath Tony Quinn – Oath

R2 Election of Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson

22/001 RESOLVED:

On the Motion of Councillors P Bourke and T Quinn

That the Returning Officer conduct the election of the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson for the period from February 2022 to February 2024.

The Returning Officer, Mr. Crakanthorp proceeded to conduct the election.

There was one nomination for the office of Chairperson that being Clr Koschel.

Mr. Crakanthorp declared Clr Koschel duly elected to the position of Chairperson for the ensuing 2 year period.

There was one nomination for the office of Deputy Chairperson that being Clr Meyer OAM.

Mr. Crakanthorp declared Clr Meyer OAM duly elected to the position of Deputy Chairperson for the ensuing 2 year period.

CARRIED

R3 Delegation of Authority to Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer

22/002 RESOLVED:

On the Motion of Councillors D Meyer OAM and J McKinnon

That in accordance with Section 377 Local Government Act 1992, Council ratify and grant the delegations as set out in the Delegations of Authority Register to the Chairperson and CEO.

CARRIED

R4 Minutes of Board Meeting 26 October 2021

22/003 RESOLVED:

On the Motion of Councillors D Meyer OAM and P Bourke

That Council accept the minutes of Board Meeting held on 26 October 2021.

CARRIED

R5 Council Meeting Schedule 2022

A motion was moved by Councillors T Quinn and P Bourke that:

That Council endorse the schedule of Council meeting dates for 2022 commencing at 9.30am as follows:

- Thursday 24 February
- Wednesday 27 April in Lockhart
- Wednesday 22 June
- Wednesday 24 August
- Wednesday 26 October
- Wednesday 14 December

An amendment was moved by Councillors D Hayes and J McKinnon

To move the meetings days to the fourth Thursday of the month, commencing at 9.30am

The amendment being put to the meeting was lost.

22/004 RESOLVED:

On the Motion of Councillors T Quinn and P Bourke

That Council endorse the schedule of Council meeting dates for 2022 commencing at 9.30am as follows:

- Thursday 24 February
- Wednesday 27 April in Lockhart
- Wednesday 22 June
- Wednesday 24 August

- Wednesday 26 October
- Wednesday 14 December

CARRIED

R6 Appointment of Council Representatives

22/005 RESOLVED:

On the Motion of Councillors D Meyer OAM and T Quinn

That Council appoint representatives to the following Committees:

- a) Chief Executive Officer's Performance Review Committee
- b) Audit, Risk and Improvement Committee (ARIC)
- c) Murray Darling Association Murrumbidgee Region
- d) Riverina Joint Organisation (RivJO)

The Council subsequently appointed the Chairperson (Councillor T Koschel), the Deputy Chairperson (Councillor D Meyer OAM), Councillor Pat Bourke and Councillor Tony Quinn to the CEO Performance Review Panel.

The Council appointed Councillor Georgie Davies to the ARIC.

The Council appointed Councillor G Driscoll to the MDA – Murrumbidgee Region.

The Council appointed the Chairperson and CEO as delegates to RivJO.

CARRIED

R7 Local Government NSW Special Conference

22/006 RESOLVED:

On the Motion of Councillors D Hayes and P Bourke

That Council:

- a) endorse that the Chairperson, the CEO and another Board member attend the 2022 LGNSW Special Conference to be held in Sydney from 28 February to 2 March 2022
- b) elect one (1) Councillor delegate referred to in (a) above to attend the Conference

Clr J McKinnon nominated and was appointed as a Councillor delegate to attend the conference.

CARRIED

R8 Local Government New South Wales - 2022 Water Management Conference

22/007 RESOLVED:

On the Motion of Councillors T Quinn and GD Driscoll

That

- a) Riverina Water be represented at the Local Government New South Wales 2022 Water Management Conference
- b) The Chairman or his nominee attend as a voting delegate
- c) Nominations of other Board Members to attend be called
- d) The Chief Executive Officer and Manager Operations or their nominees attend as observers

CARRIED

Questions and statements

The following questions and statements were made by those present:

- 1. Clr Bourke congratulated members for nominations to Riverina Water and it is a great Board to be a part of.
- 2. Clr Davies echoed Clr Bourke's comments
- 3. Clr Driscoll echoed Clrs Bourke and Davies comments
- 4. Clr McKinnon delighted to be on the Board and look forward to working with everyone
- 5. Clr Meyer asked CEO to comment on Willan's Hill and The Rock reservoirs progress. The DE and CEO provided an update on both projects
- Clr Quinn Clr Meyer and Quinn attended a project opening in November for Meals on Wheels in Holbrook. Part of the project was funded by Council. He also asked Director Engineering for progress on the meter improvement works in Walla Walla.
- 7. Clr Bourke asked a questions regarding pipes that can be seen on side of Federation Way, is this for the upgrade from Urana to Oakland and is this the entire project or a section of? Director Engineering advised is it a section of the work.
- 8. Mr Crakanthorp advised we will be ordering names tags for Board Members, that Board Member payments are made monthly. Asked Board Members to purchase a dark navy suit (jacket, pants, skirt) and Council will reimburse and have the logo embroidered.
- CIr Koschel welcomed David Maxwell to the meeting. Thanked everyone for faith in being elected Chair and congratulated CIr Meyer and those elected to committees today. Commented it was an enjoyable organisation to be a part of.

This concluded the meeting of the Riverina Water County Council Board which rose at 10:31am