Current Infrastructure Network

Riverina Water owns and operates the water supply infrastructure from the natural source to the customer's meter.

Wagga Wagga City

Water is sourced in Wagga Wagga from:

  1. Murrumbidgee River intake at 91 Hammond Avenue
  2. East Wagga Wagga borefield (Kooringal Road)
  3. West Wagga Wagga borefield (McNickle Road to Moorong Street)
  4. North Wagga Wagga borefield (East Street)

Filtration, chlorination and fluoridation is undertaken at the Hammond Avenue Waterworks and Aeration, Chlorination and Fluoridation at the West & North Wagga Wagga Works.

Pumping Stations at eight Wagga Wagga locations together with a network of rising mains transfer the water to eighteen reservoirs, on three different levels, to provide storage and pressure needed for the different elevations of the City.

Reticulation water mains extend to cover the entire urban area providing water for industry, residential, commercial, recreation and emergency fire fighting needs.
Township & Rural


Water from the Wagga Wagga sources, is also pumped into the rural area, or gravitates from the Willans Hill rural reservoir. This water is transported by pipeline to Ladysmith, San Isidore, Kapooka, Uranquinty, The Rock, Mangoplah, Yerong Creek, Henty, Morven, Pleasant Hills and Walla Walla.

A supplementary bore supply north of Walla Walla is used in the summer months, (The township of Culcairn is currently supplied with water by the Greater Hume Shire Council).

Wagga Wagga water can also be supplied to the west to the area generally served by Bulgary system.

Bulgary system sources water from a borefield 30 km west of Wagga Wagga, and after aeration and chlorination, pumps it to Milbrulong, Lockhart, Boree Creek, Urana & Oaklands.

Urana & Oaklands supply is supplemented in the summer months by water from Colombo Creek, which is moved bya pipeline to Urana where a full filtration plant is employed.

Small self-contained filtration plants are operated all year round to supply a number of villages.

A) Morundah, from Colombo Creek
B) Tarcutta, from shallow bores near Tarcutta Creek.

Groundwater is sourced and chlorinated for other villages with systems operating at Collingullie, Oura, Woomargama, Walbundrie/Rand and Humula.

A small quantity of water is purchased from Goldenfields Water County Council, to supply customers near to their trunk main between Gumly Gumly and Junee.

The township & rural network also serves a number of rural customers adjacent to the trunk mains, and in the general areas of Pleasant Hills, Brucedale, Euberta and Currawarna.