HACCP Certification


HACCP is an internationally recognised system used to identify and manage risk.
HACCP stands for Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point.

The principles of HACCP are:

  •  hazard analysis
  •  identifying critical control points
  •  establishing critical limits
  •  monitoring
  •  taking corrective action
  •  keeping records, and
  •  verify results.
  •  These principles are used in food safety programs.

About the ADWG?

Developed by the National Health & Medical Research Council of Australia in 2004 & reviewed in 2011.
Stands for: Australian Drinking Water Guidelines

  •  Deals with the management of drinking water quality
  •  Considers the characteristics of water
  •  Considers the monitoring of the drinking water system
  •  Presents information sheets for disinfection of drinking water, sampling and statistics
  •  Presents fact sheets on a wide range of WQ characteristics

How are HACCP & ADWG related?

  •  The ADWG forms the framework for the RWCC HACCP Management System.
  •  HACCP identifies what contaminants may affect water quality safety
  •  The ADWG recommends levels for contaminants
  •  ADWG advises on what is acceptable to consumers
  •  HACCP identifies how to deliver acceptable water to customers
  •  Allows RWCC to determine where problems might occur in the drinking water system/s

HACCP & Drinking Water

  •  HACCP enables us to understand and assess the risks associated with supplying drinking water, developing control measures and documenting a management system.
  •  HACCP gives us confidence that our customers will receive a safe and high quality drinking water.
  •  HACCP uses the ADWG as it's framework

RWCC became the first water utility in NSW to achieve HACCP certification in 2006. The RWCC HACCP Quality Management System is audited each year by BSI Group ANZ. To view the current HACCP Certificate of Registration please click here